Park It. Live It. Love It.

a story of a girl living in the Northern Hemisphere

The Goodbye.

I decided to sit on the top deck on my final ferry out of Santorini so that I could say goodbye to Santorini – my home for the past few months.

A book I’d once read described an ariel view of Greece as ‘bird droppings on a brown, rugged landscape’ (or something to that effect). It is sad this is the first thing I thought of as I watched the island grow smaller and smaller. I didn’t fully appreciate Santorini’s beauty sailing in. It is an extraordinary island.

What other place towers over you with thousands of white and blue houses perched precariously on high mountain cliffs?

I am feeling emotional and I can hear the violins playing as I recap the past three-and-a-half months living and working in Santorini.

I wonder if I’ll ever come back. You know how sometimes you get a feeling that it isn’t the end and you will go back to a place or meet up with friends again? I am not getting that feeling. I am sad and for some unknown reason this feels like the last time I’ll ever see this island again.

I regret nothing that has happened to me since I’ve been here.

I’ve had loves, likes, crushes and only one strong disliking of someone.

I’ve partied enough to last me the next ten years and have danced to ‘We No Speak Americano’ at least five thousand times – and I’ll admit I still love it.

I’ve met amazing people who have showed me the sights, who listened and gave advice when I went crazy with ‘island fever’, who let me into their lives and taught me their cultures, who jumped off cliffs and rode around on Quad bikes like the crazy Greeks, and who generously invited me to visit them anytime, anyplace. Thank you.

I’ve realised I don’t need a career or money to be happy. I don’t need to have it all figured out yet. All I need is a place I fit in, people I love to surround me and the occasional shot of Raki.

This all started when my friend Tammy said “Lana, I am going to Greece to work next year, do you want to come?” And the rest is history. I owe you alot Tammy, thank you.

I will be different when I return home. I will be even more carefree than when I left. I will spend more time with friends and family and less time working. I will do whatever it is that makes me happy.

My ipod has just played the Glee version of ‘Keep Holding On’and I am getting a little teary. I see it as a message not to let the effect this mystical island has had on me to disappear, and not to let the beautiful people I’ve learned to love out of my life.

I am so glad I decided to sit up top and postpone the painting of my nails.

Ya Sou Santorini.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

